His Glorious Riches

Pull out your Bible, if you’re like me and don’t have it all memorized (ha!).

Philippians 4:19 ” And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” 

At first, one might look at this verse, reread it a few times, and ask themselves “So if I ask God to grant me a brand new sports car, I’ll get it in the mail by tomorrow?” Funny how life works out, but this is probably not the case.

I read this verse this morning and to be brutally honest, it struck me hard. What does God mean when He says He will bless us with “glorious riches?” It made me reflect on a time 5 years ago, when my family was going through financial hardships. Finances affects everything. It affects your lifestyle, where and where you can’t go, what you can dress like, what food you can buy, how much you can involve yourself in, what you can do for your health, ect. The list goes on and on and on. I always asked myself, “I wonder what my life will look like in 5 years, when I’m independent and in college and not restricted certain circumstances…”

When I look back, I can recall numerous times when, as a family, we prayed hard. My dad, since I was a young girl, would always pray at the dinner table and add in the phrase “blah blah blahhh…and all this unto your riches and glory, Amen.” To be honest, I never knew what this meant. What kind of riches and glory does God want for us?

I know I get so off topic, but honestly I can look back and realize that God was there, walking by us 4, holding our hands, and directing us through our hardships. He provided in every way possible, whether that was more job opportunities for my parents, my brother, and myself. I learned much of my independence from several experiences that, as a young girl, was hard to go through, but I could not be more thankful for God blessing me with priceless lessons. I see these also as riches and glory. When we prayed for riches and glory, this didn’t mean a new car or money in the bank. We asked God to restore our faith in Him and rely completely and solely on Him.

Each time I endure a concern/problem/issue/bad circumstance, my goal is to always turn to God, and thank Him for the blessings He has provided for me. I want to never complain to Him, but instead, thank Him for the roof over my head, for my education, for my friends, and for my main support: Christ Jesus.

 

RANT OVER.

Leave a comment